Articles

The paradox of our time

In General Posts on August 21, 2009 by Suhaila

Workout
Push press 3-3-3-3-3
[38-42-48-52-57… I think]
Thruster 3-3-3-3-3
[38-42-48-52-57… I think]
This is why you should always write things down between sets. 😦

Not much time to post anything right now, so I thought I would just share this essay. I read it last year and completely forgot about it until I found it again this morning. I don’t think I’ll be posting much on weekends aside from meals during Ramadan since this is the only time I see my family.

The paradox of our time
[Usually credited to George Carlin, but actually written by a minister.]

The paradox of our time in history is that we have taller buildings but shorter tempers, wider freeways, but narrower viewpoints. We spend more, but have less, we buy more, but enjoy less. We have bigger houses and smaller families, more conveniences, but less time. We have more degrees but less sense, more knowledge, but less judgment, more experts, yet more problems, more medicine, but less wellness.

We drink too much, smoke too much, spend too recklessly, laugh too little, drive too fast, get too angry, stay up too late, get up too tired, read too little, watch TV too much, and pray too seldom.

We have multiplied our possessions, but reduced our values. We talk too much, love too seldom, and hate too often.

We’ve learned how to make a living, but not a life. We’ve added years to life not life to years. We’ve been all the way to the moon and back, but have trouble crossing the street to meet a new neighbor. We conquered outer space but not inner space. We’ve done larger things, but not better things.

We’ve cleaned up the air, but polluted the soul. We’ve conquered the atom, but not our prejudice. We write more, but learn less. We plan more, but accomplish less. We’ve learned to rush, but not to wait. We build more computers to hold more information, to produce more copies than ever, but we communicate less and less.

These are the times of fast foods and slow digestion, big men and small character, steep profits and shallow relationships. These are the days of two incomes but more divorce, fancier houses, but broken homes. These are days of quick trips, disposable diapers, throwaway morality, one night stands, overweight bodies, and pills that do everything from cheer, to quiet, to kill. It is a time when there is much in the showroom window and nothing in the stockroom.

A time when technology can bring this letter to you, and a time when you can choose either to share this insight, or to just hit delete.

Remember; spend some time with your loved ones, because they are not going to be around forever. Remember, say a kind word to someone who looks up to you in awe, because that little person soon will grow up and leave your side.

Remember, to give a warm hug to the one next to you, because that is the only treasure you can give with your heart and it doesn’t cost a cent.

Remember, to say, “I love you” to your partner and your loved ones, but most of all mean it. A kiss and an embrace will mend hurt when it comes from deep inside of you. Remember to hold hands and cherish the moment for someday that person will not be there again. Give time to love, give time to speak, and give time to share the precious thoughts in your mind.

5 Responses to “The paradox of our time”

  1. So, I just finished listening to the ilminar and the quote “monks by night, warriors by day” struck me, so i googled it. what a coincidence that your blog was the first on the list;)

    i love the quote you have on the side “Specialization is for insects” HAHA

    good job; i thought i had stopped following blogs but I think I might make an exception for this *high five* 😉

    with only the best of duas 🙂

    • I’m glad you like it! And that is so cool that the blog comes up first on Google. I was trying to Google it yesterday and I couldn’t find it on the list (checked all the way to page 12)!

  2. salam alaykum,

    I found your bog address via the crossfit.com boards as I was looking for nutrition and crossfit guidance for Ramadan.

    I am glad to find others out there and especially a fellow female. I have read your other posts and have had common experiences, such as girls getting “big” muscles etc. Also, I am a fan of al maghrib 🙂

    This year, my workouts will be before iftar, as that is when the gym closes, and would be better because I get nauseous working out after I break my fast. I think the biggest challenge will be thirst and sweating while working out. Also intensity/endurance is a big challenge for me v.s. strength workouts. I suppose strength workouts will be easier since you don’t sweat as much.

    For food, yeah I got to make sure I get enough fat and protein. I haven’t been strictly paleo or zone, but I have cut out a lot of things or at least reduced the amount of sugar and grains I consume. maybe we can swap recipes. I know I have to vary the way I make eggs.

    • Wa ‘alaykum as-salaam kba,

      I’m glad to be able to help! And it’s great to find others out there in the same boat; there are three of us at my gym and I’ve only met a couple others. I love Al-Maghrib too 🙂 I’m assuming you don’t live near me, so we’ll probably never meet at a seminar or anything, but I’ll send you an email in case you want to talk privately.

      I’m planning the same thing regarding workout timings. I already have problems with cardio/endurance, so I’m pretty sure that’s going to be even weaker during Ramadan, but yeah at least I won’t have anything to throw up! Haha.

      I’d love to swap recipes! I have a few that I’m planning, but it’s not enough to last through Ramadan without getting boring! I’ll post recipes as I make them, but if you have suggestions, please feel free to email them to me. 🙂

      — Suhaila

  3. So far I am the only muslim girl (except just recently I got my sister to join for one month, its been 3.5 weeks for her but then she has to leave town) that I know of to do crossfit, and you are the second I have met.

    too bad we dont live in the same vicinity, that would be a lot of fun. if you ever come to atlanta, let me know, and vice versa if I go to Toronto.

    true about throwing up, that is one upside to no food in the belly. last year I did OK because weather was not as hot, but I did get a little dizzy. This year is hotter, but I am in better shape, so I hope to do better.

    I have made omelets, I will let you know some recipes, I recently made one with onion, mushroom, spinach and brie cheese on top. DROOL ok ill stop talking about food now.
    I skip the paratas my mom makes, but ill treat myself to them once in a while.

    maybe post workout, smoothie with coconut oil and protein powder.

Leave a Reply

