Articles

Day 2

In Ramadan Logs on August 23, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep last night:
8 hours total (4 at night, 4 during the day)

Workout:
Rest day

Suhoor:

  • 3 egg plain omelette in a lettuce wrap with 4 strips of chicken bacon in the middle. (Is the lettuce cheating?)
  • 2/3 tbsp butter (for frying the chicken bacon) and 9 almonds
  • 1 tsp fish oil + multivitamin (Progressive’s Active Women multivitamin, if you’re wondering) + 1 tsp black seed oil

Still not hungry during the day… Maybe my weekends are just more lazy than usual this year.

Iftar:

  • 1 date
  • Coconut chicken (chicken breast strips coated in ground almond and coconut flakes, then sauteed) – 2 chicken breasts
  • 2/3 tsp olive oil (I didn’t have any coconut oil)
  • 1 cup of whole goat’s milk
  • 2 cups spinach
  • I ground 25g of almonds and used it all up, so I assume my 5 fat blocks are well-covered
  • 1 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

I recommend the coconut chicken. It is awesome, and the easiest thing in the world to make. And also, who knew that all it took to get me to cook real food was to put me on a diet?

2 Responses to “Day 2”

  1. I want to get bacon now too 🙂 that coconut chicken sounds good.

    Another 2 ideas I found for eggs: deviled egg and egg drop soup (no cornstarch).
    deviled egg, nothing fancy but just a way to add flavor to the yolk. Egg Drop soup would be denser with egg and add butter or some oil.

    Today I went to the gym at 12 and tried the hang power clean max. I did not PR, but not due to fasting, it was because I get mental blocks with Olympic lifts, where I will not drop under the bar, so today was one of those days.
    Weather was nice, and there was a breeze so that helped me not to perspire that much. I got 4 consecutive non-kipping handstand push-ups (I have been working on these, trying to get to 10 consecutive or so). I felt a little thirsty at the end but then the feeling went away.

    I hope the weather is OK tomorrow, as the WOD is Mary or Cindy and those are sweaty WODs.

    suhoor:
    2 egg omelet w/ asparagus, spinach, onion and mushroom cooked with coconut oil
    1/4 nectarine
    3 macadamia nuts
    1 fish oil tablet
    I wanted to eat more but ran out of time. inshAllah tomorrow I will have a suhoor with no carbs.

    For iftar I had
    2 dates
    smoothie w/ coconut oil, banana, strawberries and mango + some whole yogurt & whole milk
    Chicken breast with lettuce, tomato, onion cucumber and gyro sauce (yogurt, garlic and I forgot what else)
    1 grilled chicken thigh
    1/2 nectarine
    5 macadamia nuts
    2 fish oil tablets
    I might have a cup of green tea w/a little stevia and avoid carrot cake if I can

  2. Sounds delicious girls… Suhaila I also made Coconut Chicken yesterday!!
    Don’t worry about vegetables, especially green ones. Stuff like asparagus and spinach and lettuce is way too hard to eat too much of!! Mushrooms, peppers, onions etc are good too if you want to stir fry with eggs or omlette.
    Kba your iftar sounds good too for a PWO day!!! Solid workout too!

Leave a Reply

