Articles

Day 3

In Ramadan Logs on August 24, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep last night:
6 hours total (4 hours at night, 2 hours during the day)

Workout:
Got to the gym at 6:30. I had about an hour left before iftar after I was done. I wasn’t dying as much as I thought I would be.

Deadlift 5-5-5-5-5
[95-105-115-120-125 lbs]
50 burpees for time
[Time: 4:29]

Suhoor:

  • 3 egg plain omelette with 4 strips of chicken bacon
  • 1 tbsp butter (for frying the chicken bacon) and 6 almonds
  • 1 tsp fish oil + multivitamin (Progressive’s Active Women multivitamin, if you’re wondering) + 1 tsp black seed oil

Iftar:

  • 3 dates
  • Lamb ribs, 12 oz with bones (probably 6 oz of actual meat)
  • 2 cups of whole milk in a protein shake
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 9 almonds (the lamb was dripping with fat…)
  • 1 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

I had no idea how to make ribs before today. I covered the ribs in a little bit of BBQ sauce with pepper, and just guesstimated 1 1/2 hours at 325 degrees. It was really tasty, but I think it was done earlier and the meat wasn’t “falling off the bone” like it always is on TV. Darn that Food Network. Maybe next time I’ll try a lower temperature for the same amount of time. Any suggestions? Maybe I should buy an indoor grill…

2 Responses to “Day 3”

  1. Good job on your workout. How did the burpees feel, after the deadlifts plus fasting?
    I have not made lamb ribs before, but for ribs in general (beef, which is thicker and tough), I would say lower heat for a longer time. If you use a grill or fry pan, you could cook the outside to your desired doneness (it will add a little “crisp” to it) then put it in the oven so the inside etc gets cooked and soft. maybe you could add a little broth to the pan you bake it in so it ensures it stays moist.

    Me–
    Sleep: probably too much. 4 hours before suhoor, and then 4.5 hours after suhoor.

    Suhoor: 2 deviled eggs (I tried to eat the third but it was cold and I felt like having something warm) so I ate extra chicken to make up for it
    8 macadamia nuts (because many of the pieces are not whole)
    1 fish oil capsule

    workout: 715pm which is about one hour before iftar for me.

    I was late so ran into the gym with no warmup to make that last session, which is OK since I did not want to lose much fluid anyway.

    Cindy as Rx 12 rounds + 5 pushups,
    its possible 1 round was missed, since I couldn’t yell my name loud to get marked on the board. push ups were the limiting factor as I was down to singles in the last few rounds, everything else unbroken. I felt pretty thirsty but tried to keep going.
    It is a PR by maybe 2-3 rounds I think, as I have been doing the Mary WOD the last time these have come up. I think last time I did Cindy was last Fall.

    iftar-
    1 date and water (we need to buy more dates)
    fruit salad with some orange juice

    3 pieces of chicken cooked with spinach
    some thai shrimp cooked in coconut milk, bell peppers (2 tblspoon of basmati rice)
    7 macadamia nuts
    1 glass whole milk

  2. Ooh Cindy, congrats on the PR, mashaAllah. Mmm, your Thai shrimp sounds yummy, I might make that one day myself.

    The burpees weren’t as hard as I expected they’d be; usually, I’m about to faint after doing them on a regular day, but yesterday it wasn’t so bad (not that it wasn’t still pretty bad). I think it helps to have someone beside you doing them just a bit faster than you, so you stop thinking about the pain and just keep going. I took a short break after the first 25 and that helped as well. I was definitely thirsty and was coughing at some parts because of my dry throat, but I was able to continue without too much difficulty.

    Thanks for all the tips re: ribs, I had a feeling it should have been a longer cook time. The little BBQ sauce that I added mixed with the fat that was dripping out of the lamb and it ended up making a layer of liquid at the bottom of the dish so I think I may have braised it instead of baking it, which is good. I’ll try cooking the outside next time as well.

Leave a Reply

