Articles

Day 4

In Ramadan Logs on August 25, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep last night:
9.5 hours total (7.5 hours at night, 2 hours during the day)

Workout:
Got to the gym at 6:30. I had about an hour left before iftar after I was done. Felt pretty horrible throughout the workout. I have gotten lightheaded when doing front squats before though, so maybe fasting just added to that. Felt thirsty throughout the day, probably because I didn’t drink enough water/milk this morning.

3 rounds of:
21 kettlebell swings @ 1.5 pood (men), 1 pood (women)
16 front squats @ 95 lbs (men), 65 lbs (women)
400 m run
[Used 3/4 pood (~26 lbs) for kettlebell swings, and 42 lbs for front squats. Time: 25:09 (mostly due to stopping after every 4 front squats…)]

Suhoor:

  • 3 egg plain omelette with 3 strips of chicken bacon (I made 4 but ran out of time)
  • 1 tbsp butter (for frying the chicken bacon) and no almonds (again, ran out of time)
  • 1 tsp fish oil + multivitamin (Progressive’s Active Women multivitamin, if you’re wondering) + 1 tsp black seed oil

Waking up to make suhoor today was almost impossible… I was so tempted to just stay in bed, despite getting more sleep at night than usual. Hopefully I’ll get used to this sleep schedule before the end of the week because I don’t know if I can do a whole month of this!

Iftar:

  • 3 dates
  • A glass of whole milk (~ 2 cups)
  • Left over butter chicken
  • 2 cups of okra (I ran out of broccoli and spinach, and okra is just so good…)
  • 6 almonds
  • Protein shake with 2 cups whole milk
  • 1 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

I think I went overboard on the milk. I found out today that Highland Farms now sells goat’s milk in 4 L bags! Previously they only sold 1 L cartons, and that was all I could find anywhere. 1 L lasts a day. I am so happy to have finally found bags of goat’s milk. Now all I have to do is buy a milk jug and I’ll be able to actually start drinking it… I finished off the last of my cartons today so I’ll be going milk jug shopping pretty soon. 🙂 (It is so sad that I get this excited about milk jug shopping but not regular shopping.)

2 Responses to “Day 4”

  1. Running would make me thirsty and lightheaded also, as well as other movements. MashAllah for finishing that one, metcons are tough.
    I know what you mean about running out of time, I think I will try to have some things set up ahead of time for suhoor.
    That goat milk sounds good.

    suhoor:
    scrambled eggs with onion, a little asparagus, spinach, cheddar Cheese, chili pepper, and turkey bacon cooked in butter. 2 eggs worth
    1 deviled egg
    7 macadamia nuts
    fish oil pill

    today’s WOD
    Complete as many rounds as possible 20 minutes of:
    65 pound Thruster, 5 reps
    65 pound Hang Powercleans, 7 reps
    65 pound Sumo Deadlift High-pull, 10 reps

    6 rounds + 3 HPC

    I became more dehydrated with this workout and felt weaker, so I couldn’t keep a pace. Last time this came up, I got 5 rounds in 14 minutes. I assume I could potentially do at least 7 or 8 rounds.

    Iftar:
    one date
    fruit salad
    oven baked fried fish
    7 macademia nuts
    green tea, watermelon and fish oil
    couldn’t help a small piece of carrot cake too

    • Yeah, today I found it hard to wake up early enough as well, so I think I’ll start making my suhoor completely ahead of time and reheating it in the morning. Thank God I got a microwave this weekend! Makes things so much faster.

      I love how varied your eggs are! I’m too lazy for that haha. And it’s hard to keep vegetables from rotting in the fridge before I’m done with them; I think I might try buying frozen and see if that helps.

      Good work on your WOD! You’re breaking a lot of PRs lately, mashaAllah! You must be like a PR machine when you’re not fasting! 😛

      lol @ the carrot cake

Leave a Reply

