Articles

Day 8

In Ramadan Logs on August 29, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep last night:
8 hours total (8 hours at night, 0 hours during the day)

Workout:
Rest day

Breakfast:

  • Protein shake
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 cup of strawberry yogurt with a handful of blueberries
  • 3 egg plain omelette fried in coconut oil
  • 1 tsp fish oil + 1 tsp black seed oil + multivitamin

Lunch:

  • 1 cup of tea with milk
  • 2 cups of apple tuna salad with almonds
  • 3 cups broccoli (my mom does not know how to measure 1 cup of broccoli haha)
  • 1 cup home-made vanilla ice cream (!!!) with a handful of blueberries
  • 1 tsp fish oil + 1 tsp black seed oil + multivitamin

I threw some things together and ended up with this apple tuna salad concoction. It tastes better than it sounds (apparently people don’t think apple and tuna go together?). I mixed 2 cans of tuna with 3 tbsp mayonnaise and some diced apple (tossed with lemon juice and cinnamon). I would have added celery but we didn’t have any. I did add a handful of slivered almonds though. I let that sit covered in the fridge for about an hour and then served it on top of a bed of broccoli (raw, always the coolest way to eat things). I got two huge servings out of it, but you could make it three or four by having it as a side.

Also, home-made vanilla ice cream is the best thing ever. Once you eat it, store bought ice cream is just disgusting; it’s just icy sugary cream. Blech. My sister makes this regularly at home (without a machine) using this recipe with this method. She reduced the sugar a bit and made a few modifications, but that’s basically what she does. Really, it all goes over my head when she says how she makes it — mostly because I’m too busy eating it…

Dinner:

  • Coconut chicken (1 chicken breast worth) sauteed in coconut oil
  • 1 cup of tea with milk (yes, we drink it a lot in my family)
  • 1 cup of baby spinach (yuck)
  • 1 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

My mom spaced out and forgot the egg dipping step for the coconut chicken, and I spaced out and didn’t notice when I started sauteing the pieces as she was preparing them. Note for the future: coconut chicken minus the egg dipping step isn’t really coconut chicken. The coconut flakes managed to stick to the chicken well enough, but almost all the almond seems to have fallen off and gotten burnt in the pan. It wasn’t bad though, it just wasn’t real coconut chicken.

4 Responses to “Day 8”

  1. 8 hours sleep during the night? How on earth did you manage that?

    For me, Tarawih finishes at around 11:30pm, I get home around 11:40pm, do my workout, (wake everybody up 🙂 ), end up going to sleep some time after 1:00am. Then I have to wake up at 3:30am for Sahoor…

    Canada must have really long days…

    • *ahem* yeah… refer to the post in which I said “I’m taking a break from fasting…” to find your answer, haha (did you also miss the fact that somehow I ate lunch? :)).

      Canada’s days aren’t that long, either. The 8th rakah of taraweeh usually ends by 11pm, and fajr is at about 5:15 so I’d *usually* get up for suhoor at 4:15. On average I’d say Canadians get about the same amount of sleep as you Brits 🙂

  2. That tuna salad sounds good, like chicken salad with apple pieces.
    and the ice cream YUMMY. im just too lazy. do you know how the method compares to a machine?

    suhoor
    fried egg in coconut oil
    2 turkey bacon strips
    ground beef
    fish oil pill

    workout:
    Overhead squat 3 reps max. stopped at 40kg (prev. PR was 45kg) but when I power cleaned the bar to put the weight back up on the rack and blacked out for a second, I thought I should stop. hah. It was humid so maybe I lost too much water.

    iftar
    dates
    fruit salad
    captain D’s (1 piece of fried fish, a few shrimp, some fried okra, a cheat meal)

    • I’m not sure how the ice cream machine would compare; she’s never used one before and I’ve never tasted the outcome of one. All I know is the hand-made version is yummy.

      She has a lot of control over how it turns out as well (e.g. hard or soft), which I’m not sure you would get using a machine (you might but I’m not sure). I imagine the machine would be a lot easier, but she’s been making (willingly) it about every other week for the last three months, so it can’t be *that* hard!

Leave a Reply

