Articles

Day 11

In Ramadan Logs on September 2, 2009 by Suhaila

This is for yesterday. I couldn’t post this last night because I’m having some internet issues at home (stupid bandwidth).

Sleep last night:
6 hours total (6 hours at night, 0 hours during the day)

Workout:
Back squat 3-3-3-3-3
[65-75-80-85-85]
Turkish get-up 1-1-1-1-1
[15-15-15*-26-26. 1 rep consists of a right-handed TGU and a left-handed TGU. My 3rd one was actually 26 lbs with the right and 15 lbs with the left.]

Breakfast:

  • 3 egg omelette with ground beef in the middle
  • 1 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

Lunch:

  • Half a protein shake
  • 1 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

Dinner:

  • Apple tuna salad with 2 cups broccoli
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

I made goat-cheese stuffed chicken breasts but saved them in the fridge for tonight. I’m not sure how they turned out. I got organic chicken breasts and they were way bigger than expected. I’m not sure what kind of grass those chickens have been eating, but they’re huge. I’m just hoping they were cooked through; I had to make a ton more slits than usual.

2 Responses to “Day 11”

  1. sleep: A lot, maybe 8 or 9 hours?

    my breakfast could have been my lunch since it was eaten 1130am.
    omelete, cottage cheese, onion, chili peppers, brie cheese, spinach

    pre wod: a trader joe frozen dinner: called reduced guilt sole.
    it was pretty good, 2 pieces of sole, over spinach and these lima bean looking things (called butter beans?)

    wod:
    For time:
    Row 1000 meters
    65 pound barbell Thruster, 21 reps
    21 Pull-ups
    Row 750 meters
    65 pound barbell Thruster, 15 reps
    15 Pull-ups
    Row 500 meters
    65 pound barbell Thruster, 9 reps
    9 Pull-ups

    24:55
    It was discovered that I need to work on efficient rowing technique, I still bend my back too early.

    Though I was not fasting, I did not drink water. I usually keep sipping water and I guess this makes me realize I do not need to keep drinking water during a WOD. Unless the weather is really hot, and/or its a long WOD and I have lost fluid, it probably does not make that much difference, vs being hydrated during the day in general.

    dinner:
    fajita without the tortilla (chicken, guacamole, onions, green peppers, salsa)
    2 tbl spoon key lime ice cream with frozen strawberries cut up
    1 glass of milk
    fish oil pill

    BTW my Ascenta fish oil order came in (lemon). Do you take it plain by spoon or add it to something? I heard the lemon masks the fishiness taste, but I am sensitive to any fishyness. I am going to try the Robb Wolff portion and see how it goes.

    That goat cheese chicken sounds good. haha maybe the chickens ate protein enriched grass. The whole meat thing makes me so confused, I wish I could get quality grass fed meat, that did not cost an arm and a leg. zabihah would be a plus if the other conditions were true. Like if I lived near an Amish farm, I would get their meat.

    • Mmm your breakfast and dinner sound delicious. I think I’ll have a fajita without the tortilla sometime next week. 🙂

      I take the fish oil by spoon. It doesn’t taste fishy at all. What’s the Robb Wolf portion?

      I hear you on the meat thing. I’m lucky because there’s a Muslim-owned organic grocery in my city, which I believe is one of a kind in North America (Canada at least). They have delicious raw unpasteurized honey, and all their meat is zabihah, organic, grass-fed, free range, and local (within 100 miles; the owner of the store knows the farmers/beekeepers personally). Unfortunately the chicken is really expensive (I found that out when I bought the huge chicken breasts), but the lamb isn’t too bad and I think the beef is similar — I got a rack of lamb ribs for $5.75 (CAD), and 500g of ground lamb for a bit less than that.

Leave a Reply

