Articles

Day 14

In Ramadan Logs on September 4, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep last night:
4 hours total (4 hours at night, 0 hours during the day)

Workout:
“GI Jane”:
100 burpee pull-ups
[16:18. Since I still can’t do pull-ups, I did a burpee, then stepped on a 45 lb plate and jumped up to the bar and pulled myself the rest of the way (I am 5’2″ and the bar is 7′, I can just barely reach the bar when standing on the ground). I could have done a few without the plate, but I couldn’t have done 100. I’m really happy about this though; the last time I did G. I. Jane, I did 10 rounds of 10 burpees and 10 pull-ups because I needed to use bands for assistance, and my time was over 29 minutes. :)]

Suhoor:

  • 2 egg plain omelette
  • 2 strips of chicken bacon
  • 15 almonds
  • 1 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

Iftar:

  • A bun filled with green beans, except I opened up the bun and only ate the stuffing
  • 2 slices of vegetarian pizza, except I only ate the toppings
  • A protein shake made with 2 cups whole milk
  • 1 cup 2% milk
  • 1 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

I went home to visit my family for the long weekend. Unfortunately they don’t have anything to eat, and it’s even worse because on Fridays they’re strict vegetarians (can’t even eat eggs). They’re Hindu, I probably forgot to mention that lol. I looked everywhere for anything with protein; it was really lucky that I happened to bring a pre-made protein shake with me.

I made lamb meatballs and brought them with me but I’m saving them for tomorrow night. I also brought spaghetti squash and homemade tomato sauce. I really have to find more alternatives for my family… it seems like all they ever eat is dough (pizza, buns, wraps, bread) or rice. I usually make a pizza frittata instead of having regular pizza, but since they won’t eat eggs on Fridays that won’t solve the protein problem.

One Response to “Day 14”

  1. 3 egg omelete with cottage cheese, cheddar cheese, spinach, mushrooms, cooked in coconut oil

    lunch I forgot

    WOD: didnt make it to the gym

    iftar/dinner
    2 dates
    some rice, meat, spinach
    seafood soup

    I didnt know that, hmm, how about cottage cheese for protein?

Leave a Reply

