Articles

Day 16

In Ramadan Logs on September 7, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep last night:
8 hours total (8 hours at night, 0 hours during the day)

Workout:
Rest day

Suhoor:

  • Coconut pancakes topped with whipped cream and blueberries
  • 2 egg plain omelette
  • 1 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

For the coconut pancakes, I mixed 400 mL coconut milk, 2/3 cup ground almonds, 3/4 unsweetened coconut flakes, 2 eggs, 1/8 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp vanilla, and a pinch of salt, then cooked (as with regular pancakes) in a frying pan with coconut oil. (Thanks for the recipe Rachael!)

I have a feeling I did something wrong though; they didn’t turn out as well as I thought they would. I think they were a bit too watery — maybe too much coconut milk? I used a bit less than the recipe called for though — and they didn’t stick together well. The ones that I did manage to not break into several tiny pieces looked more like paper thin crepes. Maybe that’s how they’re supposed to be. I’m more used to fluffy pancakes than crepes, but crepes are good too! I feel like I did something wrong since the recipe is supposedly for coconut waffles, and I don’t think my batter would have turned out well in a waffle maker.

Iftar:

  • 3 pieces of honey lemon chicken with 2 cups broccoli
  • 1 cup 2% milk
  • 1 tsp fish oil + multivitamin
One Response to “Day 16”

  1. coconut pancakes yum, sounds good. I think I have everything but the coconut flakes.. ill check. will be a nice change.

    8 or 9 hours of sleep

    suhoor
    omelete-onion, mushroom, spinach, cottage cheese, cheddar cheese, chili pepper
    drank rest of the fish oil smoothie

    WOD
    1 rep clean and jerk
    my BRAIN and fear of the jerk got in the way again, no PR, got to 42.5kg, made the clean but not the jerk.

    dinner
    3 dates (dont know why I felt like that many)
    kabobs with cilantro chutney
    goat meat with some sauce?
    leftover grilled zucchini and asparagus
    tried the fish oil with some yogurt. that was easier to swallow for me so might try this again
    glass of whole milk w/ dark choc

Leave a Reply

