Articles

Day 18

In Ramadan Logs on September 8, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep last night:
5 hours total (5 hours at night, 0 hours during the day)

Workout:
5 thrusters
7 hang power cleans
10 sumo deadlift high-pulls
AMRAP in 12 minutes, all @ 115 lbs (insane people?), 95 lbs (men?), 65 lbs (women?) – not sure how the scaling was supposed to work here
[4 complete rounds, plus 5 thrusters, 7 hang power cleans, and 3 sumo deadlift high-pulls. 42 lbs each.]

Suhoor:

  • 3 egg plain omelette
  • 1 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

I woke up at 3am to eat because I needed to stop eating by 3:30 today. I wanted to do a blood test after work that requires 12 hours of fasting beforehand. Did you know they won’t let you do a blood test after work if it requires fasting? It has to be done between 8am-noon? Something about how if you’re walking around all day and doing work, it throws everything out of whack. I find this hard to believe. Even if I went for a blood test at 8am, I would probably not have gotten much sleep the night before, especially during Ramadan (and I don’t remember any doctor or anyone in any lab telling me that sleep was a requirement for blood tests). I’m pretty annoyed because this is the second time I’ve fasted in order to do this test, and the second time I couldn’t do it (the first time was on Saturday when my mother assured me the lab would be open, but it wasn’t). This means I have to wait until Saturday and then fast again, then wait an additional week for the test results; I should have done the test a week ago but work hours completely coincide with lab hours. Bah, frustrating, stupid blood tests. *grumble*

Iftar:

  • 3 dates
  • Coconut chicken with 1 cup spinach (frozen spinach looks weird when cooked)
  • 3 cups whole milk
  • Yogurt with strawberries and blueberries
  • 1 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

Two nice Algerian guys I met on the elevator today reminded me that there’s only 12 days left in Ramadan. 😦

2 Responses to “Day 18”

  1. good job on the workout.

    I didnt have coconut shredded so I didn’t make the pancakes. Hopefully I can buy that soon.

    Mixing yogurt with strawberries (and by chance I used blueberries today also) helps hide the fish oil for me. I had to look up “how to give fish oil to a toddler” but I admit I am a baby when it comes to stuff like that.

  2. Haha, I really don’t mind just drinking the fish oil straight, which is so weird because I was always the most picky eater in my family (as a child and still today, lol).

    I wonder if you could use fish oil as part of a salad dressing. It just tastes like lemon to me, so it might be like squeezing lemon juice over the salad? Or maybe it wouldn’t work at all, haha.

Leave a Reply

