Articles

Day 21

In Ramadan Logs on September 11, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep last night:
4 hours total (4 hours at night, 0 hours during the day)

Workout:
15 deadlifts @ 135 lbs (men), 95 lbs (women)
10 push jerks @ 135 lbs (men), 95 lbs (women)
15 push-ups
5 rounds
[Time: 29:51. Deadlifts and push jerks with 42 lbs. Push-ups were chest to 35 lb plate.]

No pull-up yet. I got a bit less than halfway up from a total deadhang though (using a chin-up grip)! Will keep trying randomly over the weekend and probably on Monday.

Suhoor:

  • 3 egg omelette with 3 strips chicken bacon
  • 5 almonds
  • 2 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

Iftar:

  • 1 date
  • Tofu stir-fry with noodles and broccoli
  • 5 cups whole milk
  • 1 cup 2% milk (I ran out of whole milk)
  • Some spaghetti squash seeds
  • 2 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

Vegetarian food for iftar since I’m back at my parents’ house and it’s Friday. 😦 My sister made the noodle stir-fry for me; it was supposed to have a minimum of noodles and a maximum of broccoli, but we ran out of broccoli, so it ended up having about 45% noodles, 45% tofu, and 10% broccoli (you can tell I’m a mathie…).

2 Responses to “Day 21”

  1. YAY for the almost pullup. Getting it started is hard so I think you are close. I remember I would do random pullups (or attempts depending on my progress) say a few times a day with hours in between… so I got chance to recover and keep practicing/strengthening.

    Suhoor:
    leftover omelete with feta cheese, spinach
    maybe some macademia nuts

    WOD
    push jerk 3 rep max
    30kg, 35, 40, 43(2), 43

    I finally PR’ed after a very long time. Hopefully I will keep improving and get over the fear issues with olympic lifts (and getting under the bar) to get to my potential.

    Iftar (not necessarily in the same order)
    2-3 dates
    taco without the shell or tortilla
    macademia nuts
    glass of whole milk
    chicken soup
    1 nectarine
    feels like I had something else, but I must have forgotten

  2. I forgot my yogurt concoction with fish oil. I have been having 3-4 tsps at once. I havent noticed a significant difference yet, but no digestion or side effects so I am going to continue. Next time I will buy the high potency version for less tsps since I plan to try to continue taking this dosage.

Leave a Reply

