Articles

Day 22

In Ramadan Logs on September 12, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep last night:
8 hours total (8 hours at night, 0 hours during the day)

Workout:
Rest day

Suhoor:

  • I had to fast for my blood test this morning so I skipped suhoor.

Iftar:

  • 1 date
  • Barbecued shrimp with 2 cups broccoli
  • 3 cups whole milk
  • A handful of almonds and cashews
  • 2 tsp fish oil + multivitamin
4 Responses to “Day 22”

  1. YUMMY shrimp.

    How was the blood test? I think I need to go for my physical soon. I read somewhere about asking for a full panel on the blood test and not just getting the usual cholesterol numbers. Let me know if you know.. I will try to find it or ask at my gym.

    I remember before I got LAID OFF.. I took a basic blood test in our building, and it said I had high good cholesterol and a high ratio of good to bad, but my bad was “high” to them of course

    OH and yeah finally got the coconut, inshAllah going to try for the next suhoor making the pancakes. Did you use a recipe like this one?
    http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-coconut-pancakes-and-waffles/
    2 eggs (Eggland’s Best)
    1/2c or 56g almond meal (Bob’s Red Mill)
    1c or 68g shredded coconut, unsweetened, unsulphured (local health food store brand)
    1 can or 400mL/g Coconut Milk (Organic Native Forest)
    1/2t sea salt (Redmond sea salt)
    1/2t baking powder
    1/2t or 1g cinnamon (to taste)
    vanilla, optional (to taste)

    suhoor:
    fried beef short rib (3 pieces)
    1 egg (all cooked with butter and coconut oil, I sort of over did it and felt really full so didnt have macadamia nuts)

    WOD:
    I went to the gym at 10am and did not want to sweat much (Barbara was the WOD) so I did:

    20 rep back squat
    35kg, 40kg, 45kg

    it was tough, but possible I could go higher because only the last rep in the 45kg was bad form. I had to sit down and recover after each set.

    iftar:
    2 dates
    fruit salad
    2 pieces of fish (so think ill skip fish oil today, also b/c I don’t feel like having yogurt ha)
    2 pieces of broccoli
    tea with milk
    I might snack on something else before I sleep.

    • Sorry! WordPress marked it as spam because it was so long πŸ˜›

      The blood test went ok I think. Obviously I have to wait about a week before I’ll find out the results. Yeah I’m not very science-y so I don’t usually read what’s being tested πŸ˜› The doctor gives me a requisition and I go to the lab, no questions asked lol. (Maybe they don’t do it this way in the States, basically the doctor gives you a form with all the tests he/she wants checked off, and you go to a lab and they get your samples and send your doctor the results). I’ll ask about my cholesterol levels when I get the results, I’m curious now πŸ™‚

      When I had my physical a couple of weeks ago, the doctor said my blood pressure was 100/60 and my resting heart rate was 53. Which is really shocking because my resting heart rate was around 80-90 in February/March of this year, and I don’t have a clue what happened with my blood pressure, but it seems good! I verified it with the very-accurate blood pressure/pulse machine at the pharmacy. I think it’s the fish oil, haha.

      Yes, the coconut pancakes recipe was very much like that one! I didn’t use any cinnamon and I used less baking powder, but other than that it’s pretty much the same. Let me know how it turns out! I’m curious if those slight changes might be why mine were so thin and hard to keep from breaking.

      I’m loving the beef short ribs, but your iftar sounds really small. 😦 2 pieces of broccoli? Are you sure you don’t mean 2 heads of broccoli? lol have some more ribs before you sleep! πŸ™‚

  2. I submitted my commented but didnt show up. When I tried it again and I got a message saying it is a duplicate.. if not its OK, it was mostly me blabbing πŸ˜›

  3. I still have to find out, but its data that you would find in a full panel (done for your blood test). I remember my blood pressure and resting heart rate was considered low, but the doc said as long as it can go up, then its OK (probably low because of being active).

    I went ahead and had more beef before sleeping last night.

    as for the pancakes, I used half the mix. Since I was not sure that the baking powder got distributed evenly, I added a dash more.
    I think it turned out good. Still thin, but it did get bubbly and rise. I made sure the side was cooked before attempting to turn over because it could still break or tear apart. Then I was just careful when picking up and turning it over.

    I was surprised that they actually tasted sweet, and I added no sweetener. I had a frozen strawberry on top of it. sadly I ran out of time for suhoor, so I only had one pancake, but I will eat the leftovers for this next suhoor inshAllah.

Leave a Reply

