Articles

Day 24

In Ramadan Logs on September 14, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep last night:
4 hours total (3 hours at night, 1 hour during the day)

Workout:
“Karen”
150 wall-balls for time @ 20 lbs (men), 16 lbs (women)
[20:56. Used a 12 lb ball.]

I still have half a pull-up.

Suhoor:

  • 2 egg omelette
  • 2 strips of chicken bacon
  • 1 cup of strawberries
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 2 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

Iftar:

  • 1 date
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 2 tandoori chicken drumsticks
  • 2 pieces of honey mustard chicken
  • 1 cup broccoli
  • 2 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

3 Responses to “Day 24”

  1. I hate Karen. I don’t know how you do all this with 4 hours sleep.

    suhoor
    egg, 3-4 short ribs
    1-2 coconut pancakes (I forgot) with some frozen strawberries

    WOD
    Annie as Rx
    16:20

    last time, 12/08/08 17:00 5 singles to every double under

    Double unders still sort of suck (at most I can get 12 in a row) but getting better. I am sure fatigue also played a secondary role in not being faster and my situps aren’t speedy either ha.

    iftar
    4 dates
    2 short ribs
    5 macademia nuts
    some chicken
    half a can of tuna
    2 glasses of milk
    fish oil with greek yogurt and some blueberries

  2. Haha. I don’t know either. Seriously I think it’s just Ramadan. In any other month, I would have passed out halfway though, but this month I’ve been able to make a lot of improvements despite fasting and not getting much sleep, alhamdulillah.

    Your short ribs are so tempting! I have to drive pretty far to find ribs, but if you keep commenting that you’re eating them I might just give in and pay for the gas.

    How does the Greek yogurt taste? I’m too scared to try it. I tried keffir and hated it 😦

  3. Thats great alhamdolillah. I do not have a job this Ramadan, so I do get more sleep. but I sorta know what you mean about having that extra energy. I thought I was going to do worse with this warmer weather, sweating a lot and not having drank something for more than 12 hours.

    haha, my ribs are almost finished. I bought a pack, split them up into sets of 3-4 and froze them.I was going to use beef bacon for suhoor, but the pack I had was already expired and never got a chance to go back to the halal butcher place yet, so short ribs are my substitute. If you do get a chance to get them, I would recommend them because they are easy to make and fatty

    I have not had kefir so I can’t compare, but I like the Greek yogurt. There is a slight sour tinge, but I don’t think that much compared to regular organic yogurt. I got a small container, but I have seen even smaller ones, so you could get that. if you dont like it, you could add fruit. I know its used for gyros so it might be close to what sour cream tastes like, but I am making a guess.

Leave a comment