Articles

Day 28

In Ramadan Logs on September 18, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep:
5 hours total (5 hours at night, 0 hours during the day)

Workout:
10 kettlebell swings @ 1.5 pood (men), 1 pood (women)
5 burpees
5 rounds
[5:09. Kettlebell swings with 3/4 pood (26 lbs). We had a shorter workout today because of the Element CrossFit Challenge tomorrow (!). Next time I think I might try the 1 pood (35 lb) kettlebell, depending on how many reps there are in the workout.]

Ahh pull-ups. Yesterday I tried using the lightest band with my knee in it instead of my foot and I couldn’t do one proper pull-up. Today, on my first attempt at a strict unassisted pull-up, I got the top of my head just barely over the bar (but I wasn’t yet at eye-level). Huge improvement. I could only do it once though; the next few attempts I managed to get my elbows just up to 90 degrees. I did 10 sets of 1 with my knee in the lightest band (failed one at the beginning but got the next ten without too much difficulty). The fact that I failed at the beginning but managed to get all the rest makes me think it’s more psychological than physical. Anyway, I’m volunteering at the Challenge tomorrow, so I’ll try to sneak onto a pull-up bar when no one’s looking and see if I can do it yet. It’s really amazing the difference one day can make…

Suhoor:

  • 3 egg omelette with 4 strips chicken bacon
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 1/2 bottle of iced tea (which made my stomach feel weird for the whole day)
  • 2 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

Iftar:

  • 2 cups whole milk
  • Mmmmm lots of good food at my friend Maria’s house 🙂 Chicken, beef, salad, spinach, broccoli, mmmmmmm it was yummy. And I resisted all pakoras, gulab jamuns, and cake (technically I didn’t even have to do much resisting because they didn’t even try to force me to eat it! It’s nice to have friends that care… :))
  • 2 tsp fish oil + multivitamin
One Response to “Day 28”

  1. Cool, have fun at your challenge and hope you get the pullup soon. your attempts will only make you stronger.

    suhoor
    the last of my short ribs (3)
    1 egg fried
    last coconut pancake with 2 strawberries

    WOD
    rest

    iftar
    3 dates
    chicken soup with veggies
    chicken with salsa (one wing)
    some dry fruit
    1 glass of milk w/dk chocolate

    forgot to have fish oil

    Eid Mubarak in advance. Can’t believe this went by so fast.

Leave a Reply

