Articles

Day 29

In Ramadan Logs on September 19, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep:
3 hours total (3 hours at night, 0 hours during the day)

Workout:
Rest day

The ECF Challenge was AWESOME!! Can’t wait for next year! I tried two pull-ups three hours apart. The first was almost a full pull-up! My chin was just under the bar! The second was to eye-level, but I guess my arms were still tired. Once I get one pull-up, hopefully my recovery time between pull-ups will decrease… Looking forward to trying again tomorrow night! I might just meet my goal inshaAllah!

Suhoor:

  • 3 egg omelette with 2 strips chicken bacon
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 2 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

Iftar:

  • 2 cups whole milk
  • A vegetable wrap with spinach, lettuce, tomatoes, mushroom, and cheese
  • 2 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

Didn’t eat much for iftar. I have a migraine (I think it was from driving home with the sun in the rearview mirror; bright lights tend to give me migraines).

Tomorrow’s Eid! Eid mubarak! Unfortunately I promised my parents that I would stay home with them tomorrow, so I won’t be celebrating until Monday (got the day off work). At least I’ll be able to avoid all the gulab jamen and other sweets that go along with Eid?

2 Responses to “Day 29”

  1. if you got that far on the pull up with 3 hours of sleep then you will get it very soon…

    Eid Mubarak. Can’t believe its over.

    suhoor
    2 scrambled egg w/ cottage cheese, red pepper flakes, green onions, cheddar cheese and some green tomato salsa thing
    keema with some yogurt

    WOD@home
    21-15-9-3
    HSPU and L pullups
    L pullups were all kipping
    HSPU some were kipping and rest were negatives. the thing that is weird is at home I can hardly do any. At the gym I can do them as Rx. I even folded up a yoga mat (the gym has a mat also) so not sure what the deal is. maybe its a brain thing, because the mat at the gym is thicker though my hands don’t sink into it.
    MY guess is I took 25 min or so. I made the negatives really slow so at least I felt I did something.

    iftar
    3 dates
    1 chicken quarter
    some rice with goat meat
    dried fruit
    yogurt w/4 tsps fish oil, some blueberries and 2 strawberries
    probably other stuff though don’t really feel like cheating more than the 1-2 tablespoons of rice.

    I know I will cheat tomorrow, but even when I do, its not a whole lot. like when people say they eat a whole ice cream container, yeah I cant do that even if I tried.

    • Eid mubarak to you too 🙂 Thanks, hopefully I’ll get a pull-up next time.

      That’s strange that you have trouble with HSPUs at home. It could be a mental thing; I think I have more energy/adrenaline when I’m at the gym just because my body’s used to working out there. Why do you use a mat under your hands? I would think you’d have a stronger HSPU without a mat since you have a harder surface to push against.

      Yeah I can’t do the huge cheat thing either. A cheat for me is like curry with some rice, or yogurt with added honey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

