Articles

21/09/2009 – The elusive pull-up…

In General Posts on September 21, 2009 by Suhaila

… has been defeated!!! πŸ˜€

Sleep:
5 hours total (5 hours at night, 0 hours during the day)

Workout:
@ 135 lbs (men), 95 lbs (women):
5 deadlifts
4 hang power cleans
3 front squats
2 push jerks
Every minute on the minute for 20 minutes.
(If you fall behind the pace, see how many rounds you can do in the remaining time.)
[Completed 20 rounds at 32 lbs. Probably could go heavier next time but it was nice to stay on pace for the whole workout. I had about 30 seconds rest in each minute.]

I tried a pull-up right before the workout, and I did it! Finally! And then I tried another one right after the workout, and I did that one too! (Although the second one was much uglier than the first one.) πŸ˜€ I did both of them with an underhand (chin-up) grip. I can’t do any with an overhand grip yet. I think my next goal will be to get kipping pull-ups, then at least 3 chin-ups in a row, and then I’ll work on getting overhand grip pull-ups.

Breakfast:

  • 3 eggs overeasy
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • One tiny slice of cake πŸ™‚

Lunch:

  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 2 cups broccoli
  • Keema and chicken curry
  • 2 tsp fish oil
  • Two tiny slices of cake 😐

Dinner:

  • 2 cups whole milk
  • Peppercorn flank steak
  • 1 cup broccoli
  • 2 tsp fish oil + multivitamin
One Response to “21/09/2009 – The elusive pull-up…”

  1. Congrats on the pull up. Dead-hang is definitely harder in terms up upper body strength. Now that you have it, you will be able to do more and kipping unassisted will be very easy. I know some girls who don’t have the deadhang but they have the kip.. I assume they have the ability to do a deadhang but I think technique is one factor (trying to focus on back muscles, not just arms etc)

    I sorta forgot what I had today.. again breakfast was paleo zone
    2 egg omelete, cheddar cheese, green onion and green tomato salsa.

    lunch… dried fruit in the car. UHHH we drove in a hurry to this other city and ends up being a horrible weather day in Georgia.. alhamdolillah nothing happened to us but it did to others, several fatalities and flooding.

    Finally got home at 7pm. I had seafood with chipotle and butter. I had some dark chocolate and dont remember what else.. I think a pretzel. ha I was confused and disoriented.

    no WOD today either. I hope tomorrow will be a more normal day. I did some handstand practice, trying to keep my body more straight, core tight, still use a wall as a security blanket back up..

    oh our gym is having the fight gone bad fundraiser this Saturday. I forgot about it. I think I will go, its just one of my worst workouts (endurance and recovery is my weakness)

Leave a Reply

