Articles

25/09/2009

In Logs on September 25, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep:
6 hours

Workout:
Back squat 5-5-5-5-5
[55-65-75-85F-85F-85-85. First failed 85 lb attempt: failed on the 3rd rep and had to bail. Second failed 85 lb attempt: All reps weren’t low enough; took a longer rest in between sets for the next two. My back squat is terrible. 😦 I think that’ll be my next goal after kipping pull-ups.]

4 x 400 m run
[2:05-1:55-1:48-1:53. I’m terrible at running too, but at least I got better with each attempt (except the last one but I had a shorter rest between the last two attempts since I was running out of time).]

Before the back squats, I did 1 strict and 1 kipping pull-up, then I did another 1 strict and 1 kipping pull-up after the squats, and 2 kipping pull-ups after the 3rd run. I got one almost full kip — kipped eyes-to-bar and then I pulled myself the rest of the way — that’s the closest I’ve ever gotten with a kip.

Breakfast:

  • Slept in
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 strips of chicken bacon
  • 2 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

Lunch:

  • Beef shawarma plate with no rice
  • 2 tsp fish oil + multivitamin

Dinner:

  • Vegetable wrap with beans 😦
  • 1 cup tea with milk
  • 1 cup yogurt with strawberries
3 Responses to “25/09/2009”

  1. I don’t know if you have the same issue I have with back squats (its gotten a little better now) is fear. I used to think great this thing is on my back, what if I get stuck.. bailing out etc. SO I don’t always do my potential.

    Learning and actually bailing I think helped me. Plus figuring out how low is low (going an inch below it starts to feel difficult) and not just sitting there at the bottom position, don’t ask me why I do that.. so basically getting out of the “hole” quickly, standing back up and using the heels are the cues I need.

    LOL I won’t even talk about running. I HATE IT.

    always stuff to work on for crossfit. good job on the pull up progress. it will also be exciting to get the kipping pullup

    WOD
    95 lb Squat clean, 10 reps
    50 GHD Sit-ups
    95 lb Squat clean, 8 reps
    40 GHD Sit-ups
    95 lb Squat clean, 6 reps
    30 GHD Sit-ups
    95 lb Squat clean, 4 reps
    20 GHD Sit-ups
    95 lb Squat clean, 2 reps
    10 GHD Sit-ups

    can’t you tell I copied and pasted the above because its so neat.

    near the end of the 2nd round the screw fell out of the bar. We estimate that the time it took for me to see if I could put the screw back in then getting another bar and putting weights on that one, was probably 5 minutes.

    If I subtract that from the total time then my workout time was about 21 minutes, which includes a few failed cleans because I guess my brain was thinking too much after the incident, but that was all.

    This was tough on the quads since they are used in the GHD sit-ups, plus when you need to stand back up in the squat clean, I think I had tears in my eyes.

    Tomorrow is the Fight Gone Bad fundraiser. I only raised $10 so far (because I was the one who donated :P) but its OK I tried. I can’t move my arms normally due to DOMS, I hope I can at least go through the motions, FGB is not my forte.

  2. Yeah I think it might be psychological too, at least I hope so… I’ve never been very good at squats or anything lower body related though. I really need to work on gaining some strength there. I’ve probably bailed more often than anyone else in my gym and at much lower weights. 😦

    How did FGB go?? I wanted to do it at my gym, but I’m out of town for the weekend. I’ve never done it before, but it sounds like a lot of “fun” πŸ™‚ I hope your arms were ok!

  3. making gains in lower body is much easier than upper body.. also your gains are greater, so I think with practice and working out you will be able to do more in a short amount of time.

    ill post now on FGB! (funny how it has an !)

Leave a Reply

