Articles

01/10/2009

In Logs on October 1, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep:
5 hours (I really need to work on this…)

Workout:
Back squat 20-20-20-20-20
[45-50-55-60-60]

Skill work
[Tried ring dips at the gym for the first time: Did 1 set of 5 with the thin purple and black bands, then did 2 sets of 5 with just the black band, then did 1 set of 5 slow negatives without any bands. I think I could do ring dips with the thin purple band (lightest resistance), so I’ll try that next time. All the pull-ups probably helped a lot.

Worked on pull-ups: 2 deadhang pull-ups + 5 kipping pull-ups

Tried to do a straight arm pull to inverted hang after reading about it on the CrossFit FAQ. I failed miserably. On the bar, I can get my toes to the bar, and I can even get my knees in and over the bar so that I can hang on my knees very easily. Once I was able to get my legs straight, but I can’t seem to get my hips to straighten out. The rings were much worse. I don’t have the lat strength to do these on the rings. Maybe I’ll try again after I start doing regular grip pull-ups (instead of chin-up grip).]

Breakfast:

  • 2 cups of tea
  • 2 mini Chips Ahoy cookies (I was sooo hungry by 11am, and they were in the lunch room, I had no choice! They were disgusting.)

Lunch:

Dinner:

  • One can of mackerel (yeah I ran out of food and was too lazy to experiment with leftovers)
3 Responses to “01/10/2009”

  1. wow you did 20 rep backsquats.. those make me cry.

    good job on the ring dips.. thats great for your first attempt. now you can throw them into your warmups and workouts.

    congrats on the pullups and multiple kips..

    straight arm pull to inverted hang–do you have a video link to this? I think I know what it is but not sure.

    lol I know what you mean about cookies. if its not a delicacy type.. then it makes me feel YUK. not that im excusing fancy cookies..

    WOD
    For time:
    25 Walking lunge steps
    20 Pull-ups
    50 Box jumps, 20 inch box
    20 Double-unders
    25 Ring dips
    20 Knees to elbows ( I used rings to hang from)
    30 Kettlebell swings, 1.5 pood
    30 Sit-ups
    20 Hang squat cleans, 25 pound dumbells
    25 Back extensions
    30 Wall ball shots, 14 pound ball
    3 Rope climb ascents

    30:25

    a workout where I feel I could have been fast in some exercises but endurance is a limitation. But it was not the case for those KB swings or WB (for me), those took a while for me to finish

  2. Yeah, in the 4th set I think a tear came to my eye. By like the 10th rep I was making du’a to just finish. By the 15th I was making du’a to not be paralyzed at the end of it haha. The 5th set was similar but I figured out how to block out pain around the 12th rep and just went as fast as I could through the rest with no rest (as opposed to standing with the bar on my back for like a minute between each rep).

    Sorry, I don’t have a video for the straight-arm pull to inverted hang. I’m at work right now but I’ll look on YouTube when I get home. If you read the CrossFit FAQ about it and actually try to follow along with your own pull-up bar, it starts to make sense haha. Basically the end position is the top of a muscle-up but upside-down. You’re hanging by your hands with your body in a straight line, head pointed down, feet pointing up. You can do it on a bar or on rings (the FAQ specifically mentions a bar, but it’s easier on rings).

  3. yeah knocking them out quickly helps, but is tough when you are crying haha

    I will try that today on my rings, I think I know what you are talking about now.

Leave a Reply

