Articles

15/09/2009

In Logs on October 15, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep:
7 hours

Workout:
10 push press @ 95 lbs (men), 65 lbs (women)
10 pull-ups
20 squats
AMRAP in 12 minutes
[3 rounds (plus 10 push presses, 10 pull-ups, and 10 squats). I tried to do the pull-ups RX’d but after the first 5 I had to add the black band. I think I was still doing those pull-ups (first round) at the 6 minute mark! I really wanted to get at least one round in, so I added the black band (which is the same size but slightly more resistance than the thinnest purple band — my intention was to get the lightest resistance band, but I keep thinking that the black one is the lightest and I only remember that it’s not after the fact). Push presses were with 42 lbs. I can do 52 lbs with much difficulty, but I wanted to concentrate on pull-ups as the hardest part of the workout so I stayed at 42. Overall a depressing workout, but it makes me more motivated to keep working on pull-ups. My kip is still where it was two weeks ago, with very little improvement.]

2 Responses to “15/09/2009”

  1. I wonder if you do the same thing I used to do when I was learning to kip. If you can make a video, email it or a link.

    I would swing forward, and coming back I would pull at the wrong time which ended up making things harder than even a strict pullup (switching from being dynamic to all of the sudden static) and my upper body wore out fast.

    You could also try practicing them with a band in your warm up.

    there is also this way where, when you kip, and you start to pull, you can move your legs again to help or basically open the hips more to give you more assistance. but save that for later I think since I am not 100% sure how your kip technique is now.

  2. Hm, I think you’re right that I am pulling at the wrong time. I feel the same way that when I try to kip it ends up being harder than a strict pull-up. Today’s WOD (the 19th) is the 3 weighed, 5 strict, 7 kipping WOD, so I’ll get lots of practice today inshaAllah. If I still can’t figure out the problem, I’ll try to find my camera again to make a video.

Leave a Reply

