Articles

26/10/2009

In Starting Strength on October 26, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep:
6 hours

Workout:
Starting Strength:
Squat: 5/5/5 @ 65 lbs (+5 from Wednesday)
Press: 5/5/5 @ 22 lbs

I finished all that in about 10 minutes. 22 lbs is really light! But my 5 rep max is somewhere in the 40s, so I should be back up to that weight in a few more weeks. Anyway, since I finished so early, I felt like doing something else, so I did some extra power cleans:
Power clean: 5/5/5 @ 57 lbs (+5 from Thursday)

2 Responses to “26/10/2009”

  1. How is your shoulder? Hope fully OK because you did shoulder press and power clean.

    I am out of town and I did not bother trying to work out here. I will when I get back.

    • My shoulder is ok. It still hurts a bit in certain positions. I tried to press at a really low weight (22, which felt like nothing really) to see if it would hurt and it felt fine so I continued. I think that as long as I don’t feel any slight bit of pain in my shoulder, I’ll continue doing press and bench press. I tried a power clean at a light weight as well and it was even more fine… No pain at all.

      So I’ll continue doing SS with the shoulder as I’m still in the beginning and everything is really light so far. Hopefully by the time it gets heavier my shoulder will be back to normal. For anything where I have a choice though, I’m going to avoid the shoulder at all costs to allow it to heal. I won’t do any extra pull-ups, push-ups, dips, overhead lifts, etc in metcons or warmups. I miss pull-ups. 😦 But I do feel like my shoulder feels better today than it did on Monday, so maybe the rest is helping.

Leave a Reply

