Articles

01/12/2009

In Starting Strength on December 1, 2009 by Suhaila

Sleep:
7 hours

Workout:
Starting Strength:
Deadlift 5 @ 150 lbs (+5 from last Tuesday) — PR!

Metcon: BASELINE
500 m row
40 squats
30 sit-ups
20 push-ups
10 pull-ups
[Ehhhh… it was HORRIBLE. The last time I did this, which was also my first ever Baseline, I got 8:32 and I did knee push-ups and pull-ups with the thick purple band. This time I did it RX’d. My time after the sit-ups was 6:00. My time after the push-ups was 7:40. But my time after the stupid pull-ups was 14:52. I know you’re laughing at me! Stop it! 😛 I was doing the pull-ups one by one; I haven’t done pull-ups in about two weeks I think, so I kind of lost the kipping motion. Oh well, I guess this means I just have to do Baseline again soon.]

Also I did my second BIA test before the workout, and found that I gained 1.3 2.7 lbs of muscle in the last 6 weeks! (Sorry, I have the worst memory, I think the 1.3 was for something else and I got it mixed up with the muscle gain number. Recalculated it and it is actually 2.7 :))

2 Responses to “01/12/2009”

  1. That is great progress.. After deadlifts and rowing, pullups are definitely going to be harder.. I know for me my grip gets weaker hence kipping is harder.

    did you get my email? I think those drills are cool because you work on grip stuff (like the kip swings) but without exhausting yourself so you can still workout.

    I can’t wait to get back to the gym even just for those gymnastics warmups haha. I haven’t yet done the pull day (just the push day twice)

    that is awesome about the muscle gain. its so hard to gain that. hows your diet? mine has been so so. not terrible but not ideal.

  2. I got your email, thanks! Just haven’t had a chance to reply yet. The gymnastics warmup looks good, I think I will try it! I haven’t been able to watch the upper body maintenance video because I’ve been at work and got home late last night, but I will watch it soon as it sounds useful too.

    I think my diet has been similar to yours… it’s very similar to what I was eating during Ramadan, mostly good but occasionally I’ll have something with grains or sugar. Also I added brown rice back in to my diet since it seems to not have any negative effects on me. I found out that a lot of the Sri Lankan foods that I used to eat are made by soaking flour overnight, or by soaking rice, which makes grains lose their toxic qualities. Google sprouted flour/rice, apparently it qualifies as paleo! So I’ve been eating those things too, but only the ones that my mom still makes with all natural ingredients. She has started using those shortcut mixes that contain a lot of preservatives for some of them. 😦

Leave a Reply

